UiPath installed locally on Server - Unable to run processes when Remote Desktop Connection is closed

Hi UiPath Community,

The company I work for have just started their RPA-journey, and I have the pleasure of being responsible for it. However, I am rather new to the universe of RPA and I need some assistance.

For our current setup, UiPath Studio is installed on a local server, which we access via a Remote Desktop Connection. This works extremely well and we have developed a couple of unattended processes, which we would now like to test for a period of time. The processes have to run on a daily basis, which will be handled by Task Scheduler for now, as it is only a few processes and we have not invested in Orchestrator yet.

… and now for the challenge: I try to run the processes via Task Scheduler while being disconnected from the Remote Desktop Connection, but the processes stops/fails. Seems like UiPath is unable to find the elements, e.g. click on a ‘Run’ button when opening our ERP system. If I am connected to the Remote Desktop Connection and start the process either through UiPath or Task Scheduler, then there is no problem.

I have tried to select ‘SendWindowsMessages’ and ‘SimulateClick’ in ‘Properties’ for a Click-activity. I have also tried to use Send Hotkey, but nothing seems to work.

I have tried to search the internet for a solution but no luck. Read something about ‘Windows Remote Desktop Extention’ and ‘UiPath Remote Runtime’, but from my understanding that is only applicable, if UiPath Studio is installed on your laptop, and the robot needs to access and work in a Remote Desktop, but please correct me if I am wrong.

Looking forward to reading your input and suggestions.

Kind regards,
Simon

@SimonDalgaard

Welcome to forums,

Can you check the license allocated is Unattended licenses?