Issue with type into password field

Hi all,

I had a workflow set up to open chrome and log in to a website. I’ve since tried to invoke this workflow elsewhere and have run into issues with the type into commands.

I’ve tweaked it a bit, so the invoked flow now requests a user and password with input dialog activities, and when it runs the username works fine. However, the password is not typed correctly (something considerably shorter is being input) and this then causes a log in failure and my larger programme isn’t getting off the ground.

Until recently the login workflow was working fine on it’s own. I think this is the first time I’ve tried to invoke it (and I’m fairly new to invoking workflows in general).

Has anyone had this issue before? What details do you need to drill down on the issue?

Thanks!

Hi,
Could you post your workflow?

Hello,

Had you checked on the in out arguments?

Also the password is in string or secure string variable??

a) There’s no in or out arguments because the workflow just handles a process. the username and password are entered as part of the workflow and are not inserted into from an external process.

b) it’s a generic variable. We do not use orchestrator and generic is how the input dialog activity outputs data.

is it possible for you to share your login workflow?
Also in the password type use a trim.
You can for debug purpose add a messagebox/write line to see what value you have in your password variable

For password you have to use ‘Type Secure Text’ activity and variable ‘Password’ has to be SecureString type.

in input dialog I have ispassword ticked, is this not enough? The workflow had worked fine with typeinto until being invoked.

I can’t change the variable type, as I get an error icon on the input dialog activity.

That’s how I had it configured already.

If password is set to variable type securestring then I get an error that it is incompatible - image

should not be giving you that error.