How to click a button at a same place but different name

I’m new to UiPath and uncertain if I’m utilizing the right tools. My objective is to click a button consistently positioned on the screen, but the button’s label changes with each instance.

This particular challenge is part of my workflow. When searching for an individual in Teams, I intend to click the ‘Top hits’ button, which always corresponds to the first person displayed. However, I should refrain from clicking it for subsequent searches with different names. Could you kindly guide me on how to resolve this?

Hello @nien_shan_thai

1. Capture the changing label (e.g., person’s name).
  2. Create a dynamic selector with a variable for the changing text.
  3. Use the dynamic selector in a “Click” activity to click the button.
  4. Repeat for subsequent searches.

Thanks & Cheers!!!

Hi,
You can inspect the selector for the button and use wild cards(*) to replace the name which keeps changing. Refer below link to understand using wildcards:
https://docs.uipath.com/studio/standalone/2023.10/user-guide/selectors-with-wildcards

Thank you for your guidance.

However, when I attempted to ‘Indicate on Screen’ within Notepad, I received the following prompt: “The indicated element does not belong to the target application/browser.” Should I make any Studio configurations before attempting ‘Indicate on Screen’?

Your assistance is greatly appreciated.

Thank you for providing your solution.

May I know how to create a dynamic selector in Studio? Is it following this link: https://docs.uipath.com/studio/standalone/2023.10/user-guide/selectors-with-wildcards

Thank you in advance for your help.

Hi @nien_shan_thai ,
This error occurs because you are trying to indicate the selector in another application which you haven’t used in the ‘Use application/browser’ activity.
You need to indicate the application first.

1 Like

@nien_shan_thai