Writing data back to Google Sheets based on Read Range

Total noob here but a very experienced programmer in other languages and trying to get a sense of best practices, etc. I’m looking to process a ~7,000 row Google sheet using the GSuit Activities tools by reading the range and using the data to update our core PeopleSoft system in a browser in batches. This all works great, however I was intending to mark each row in the Google Sheet as processed so next time I run the bot, it just picks up where I left off. I’m having trouble understanding how I’m supposed to write back to the same row just processed in my For Each Data Row in Data Table. Thanks in advance!

Hey @mnorris

Currently how are you writing it please.

Is it a range way or by row or by cell ?

Thanks
#nK

@Nithinkrishna I haven’t built the “write” portion of the workflow yet, I’m looking for some guidance on the best way to accomplish it, so you tell me I would be willing to do any of those.
M

Hey @mnorris

There are two best approaches I would say,

1. Have the entire data table as global variable in main, for each transaction you update the status in the data table only & finally once all the transactions are done write it back to the Excel

2. After processing every transaction, just update the transaction status of that particular row - just like how the Orchestrator queue works.

Hope this helps.

Thanks
#nK

Thanks @Nithinkrishna,
only other question I have is how would you handle this with a filtered dataset?
M

Sorry @mnorris What do you mean by filtered dataset here please ?

@Nithinkrishna ,
I “Read Range” into a Data Table, then used the “Filter Data Table” tool to remove any rows that have a “1” in Column C (this is the activity indicator I’m trying to write later in the process). Doing this provides me with a list of unprocessed rows which I feed into the “For Each Row in Data Table” to take action upon.
Thanks for sticking with me here, really appreciate it.
M

Hi @mnorris