Org-level Robot Account vs User Account

Previous experience with v2018 and v2020 on prem, however I’m somewhat new to Automation Cloud (v2021+). I see the option at the Org level to create a Robot account instead of a User account.

The only documentation I can find is here: About accounts and groups

1. It says “they are a non-user identity to be used to run unattended processes”. When it mentions non-user, the robot accounts setup in AD are typically User accounts. I’m assuming it means actual human user?

2. When it says “robot accounts are not allowed any interactive-related process configuration” is it talking about Attended-type interaction (like a text box or form)? Or does it mean it prevents UI interactions? I see the option for ‘Run Foreground Automations’ where it asks for credentials, so I’m assuming that would then allow all UI interactions.

So what are the advantages to setting up a Robot Account in Orchestrator instead of a User Account then simply adding the Robot permissions and disabling the ‘Attended’ option? Are there any considerations or disadvantages to setting up a Robot Account vs a User Account?

No, AD account aren’t just for humans anymore. Unattended robot uses a login for system and applications, so they should have a AD instance as per organization governance rules…

You got this right :+1:

not exactly.
Interactive capabilities means: Attended robot can have interactive login capabilities, scheduling foreground and background processes, using assistant for reminder.

Hope this helps a bit!

It’s but easy to digest the modern folder, you’ll learn while using it and if want to learn quickly, try messing around on your own too understand.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. Question however:

No, AD account aren’t just for humans anymore. Unattended robot uses a login for system and applications, so they should have a AD instance as per organization governance rules…