NullReferenceException when trying to get VM List

Hi,
I’m quite new to UiPath and VM-Ware automation. To start, I wanted to get a list of all VMs on my test server. Unfortunately, I get a NullReferenceException when invoking the activity “Get VM List”. This error leaves me kinda helpless, as I don’t know, what to fix. The activity is located inside a VMware Scope and it should have credentials to an account with sufficient rights.

I also installed the certificate of our VCSA, but I’m still lost on this error.

These are the properties of both, the VmWare Scope and the Get VM List activity:

This is the setup of servers we have in our company:
VMwareServers

At this point, I suspect that the property “Folder” of the “Get VM List” activity is incorrect, but I don’t know which input would be correct. I’ve tried serveral permutations of our cluster setup, but with no success.

I’m lost here. Any help is highly appreciated.

Best Regards,
Christian

Hi @christian.sonntag !
Welcome to UiPath Community :smile:
I am not familiar with VM Ware Application Scope, but let’s try to look for the solution together !
Would you mind removing “@” form the username property, and try to run the code again ?
Also, it would be interesting to copy from clipboard the whole error message that is displayed so we can look for further references :grin:

Hi @Hiba_B,

removing the “@” from the username didn’t change anything. I’m using C# as my project language and the “@” sign allows me to use "" in my strings without having to escape them.

I’ve looked into the exception myself, but I didn’t get any useful information out of it. Anyways, here it is:

20.6.0-beta.93+Branch.release-v20.6.0.Sha.520fc7e20bd9baa56becf2fa30e75d1a9000a01d

Source: Get VM List

Message: An error has occurred: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

Exception Type: UiPath.VMware.VMwareException

RemoteException wrapping UiPath.VMware.VMwareException: An error has occurred: Object