Continuous Monitor Events Triggers - Queue When Executing?

Hi all,

I have a use case where I am continuously monitoring a folder for newly created files and executes a process when the FileChangeTrigger activates. Since the process takes a few minutes to execute, I want to make sure that I capture any additional triggers while executing. The UiPath documentation didn’t go in-depth into how the Monitor Events activity operates; would any of you have any insights into these questions?

• If I create a flowchart or sequence outside of the MonitorEvents activity, will it stop monitoring during that time?
  • Is there a built-in queue for the number of times the MonitorEvents activity has been triggered?
  • Would it possible to use Orchestrator to monitor events and add new file triggers to the queue while the same robot is executing other processes?

I’m still quite new at this so any suggestions on best practices will be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Did you ever get any responses or did you figure this out?

Monitor Events obviously works counter-intuitively. I want to run a process and monitor for a key/mouse click, at which point perform some action, and return to the process.

I haven’t been able to do this simple logic. Nothing outside of the Event Handler ever gets run, which is one problem. Once in the Event Handler, how do you stop the process? The only solution I’ve found is to do a Close Application inside a Try/Catch and ignore the exception. Not pretty…

Thanks!

Hi @lianaent,

Are you looking for something like this?

If so, you should be able to achieve this logic by changing the RepeatForever property of the MonitorEvents activity to False. When you do, the monitor activity will end after performing some action, allowing you to loop it back to the original process.

If the RepeatForever is set to True, then it would need to be done the way you had mentioned - cause an error and use the TryCatch block to ignore the error.