Orchestrator in Automation Cloud™ - Classic folder functionality deprecation - Phase 1

:information_source: This change only impacts Automation Cloud organizations that are on the community licensing plan.

Over the past two years, we have extended our product portfolio and that came with new services and functionality that support the entire UiPath Platform. Most of these new features are based on modern folders and use new ways of working with robots.
For more information about modern folders, see Key Features and Behavior.

With this in mind, over the course of 2022 we plan to deprecate all classic functionality - related to the use of classic folders - in Cloud Orchestrator.
Migration is planned to take place in phases so that the impact is minimal for you. The first phase is scheduled to take place within a few weeks.

Affected environments

This change affects Automation Cloud organizations on the community licensing plan that were created up to and including February 2021.

:info: If you do not remember when your organization was created, you can check in Orchestrator if you have any classic folders (displayed with a red folder icon in Tenant > Folders) to tell if you are impacted by these changes.

This is because, as of March 2021, by default all new Automation Cloud organizations were created with modern folder functionality enabled and classic folder functionality disabled in Orchestrator.

Phase 1

We are planning on starting phase 1 of this process in the next few weeks. This phase includes the following changes.

Automatic deprecation

With no need for an action on your part, classic folders will be automatically deprecated in the next few weeks for:

  • Automation Cloud community organizations that have no resources in classic folders
  • Automation Cloud community organizations that do have resources in classic folders, but classic resources have been inactive in the past 3 months.

We are targeting only the organizations that have no classic entities or unused ones, so there should be no impact to your setup.

Restrictions for classic functionality

In community organizations, even if classic folders are enabled for a tenant, you will no longer be able to create new classic folders, classic robots, processes, or environments. You also will no longer be able to edit your existing classic entities.

Your existing classic setups will continue working, but we encourage you to migrate to a modern folder setup. A migration guide will be made available in Orchestrator.

Licensing model change

Following the migration, the user licensing model is also enabled for the organization. As a result, interactive sign-in is also enforced for the organization.

What to expect for phase 1

Phase 1 will be starting in a few weeks. Check the release notes for a formal announcement of the changes.

Action required if you connect UiPath Studio and UiPath Assistant to Orchestrator using a machine key:

After phase 1 is complete, you must make sure you upgrade your community edition of Studio an Assistant to the latest version. After the migration, interactive sign-in is enforced and you can no longer connect to Orchestrator using a machine key, only with interactive sign-in, which is only supported in newer versions of these products.

No action required and no impact if your organization is on an enterprise or enterprise trial licensing plan.

Next phases

After phase 1 is complete, our next steps will be to deprecate classic folders and robots for community organizations , as follows:

Phase 2 : Disable job execution - You will no longer be able to run jobs in classic folders.

Phase 3 : Removal of classic functionalities - We will remove functionality related to classic folders from both the UI and the API.

We’ll keep you informed as we approach each of the above phases with details and action items.

6 Likes

UPDATE

Starting this week, we will begin the automatic clean up of classic folders. Based on the above plan, this involves the first two actions in Phase 1: Automatic deprecation and Restrictions for classic functionality.

What does this mean exactly?
We will delete the classic folders for Automation Cloud Community organizations that have in Orchestrator either empty classic folders or didn’t run a job on classic robots in the past 3 months.

The cleanup process will be done progressively, and it will most likely take a few weeks. We will start with the deletion of empty classic folders and then continue with the unused classic robots.

All Automation Cloud organizations will see starting today a banner in Orchestrator that points to this announcement, so if you encounter any issues I encourage you to report it as a reply here.

Hello Preda,

We are on an enterprise plan but I do see the red folder icon in Tenant > Folders.
image

Does this mean, we will be impacted or no need to bother since we are NOT on community license anyway?

hi Kiran, you are not impacted and the cleanup won’t target Enterprise tenants, ONLY Community.

2 Likes

Hi Preda,

I am on the Community version with one active Classic folder. I realised something had changed when I was unable to delete and recreate a Queue. I have tried to migrate to a Modern folder configuration and have repopulated the projects, linked the assets from the Classic to the Modern folder, created the one Queue required and assigned the machine and robot account. However when run from Studio the project that needs the Queue is unable to find the queue and in Orchestrator when attempting to run it with an unattended robot, it is unable to find the robot even though the machine and the robot account are visible under the Modern folder.

Oh dear!

Chris

Okay, Thank you Preda.

Buenas tardes Viorela, tengo dudas con respecto a la fecha de eliminación de las carpetas clásicas que se utilizan en la versión comunitaria y además saber si se puede realizar un respaldo de la configuración de las carpetas clásicas que pueda ser utilizada en las carpetas modernas

quedo atento a su respuesta

hi @ChrisC can you please give me your support id from Automation Cloud - Admin - Organization settings so we can investigate?

where is the migration guide?

Will do this morning.

how can we migrate the process from classic folder to modern folder, and the Robot as well.
we need a migration guide.

1 Like

The migration guide will be released in a few months and it will be like a wizard in the product to help you with the migration.

For now we will just remove the empty classic folders and the ones that are not used. If you are using the classic folders in your Community organizations, we will not touch those at this point.

Sebastian, if you are using the classic robots, you won’t be impacted at this point, we will not touch your setup. Once we release the migration guide, you will be able to move your classic robots and other entities in a modern folder.

1 Like

My classic folder is deleted in spite it was in use. Can you please check it and let me know if it can be restored?

@mrkrunaldoshi can you please give me your Support ID so we can check?

Here is the Support ID: 6429-0970-8236-4619.
I see a message “User TenantMoveAdmin deleted folder Default”, 11 hours before.

I have been using it regularly, I accessed queue’s yesterday as well.

Please check and let me know.

@mrkrunaldoshi
The team investigated and our data shows that on Default folder there was no job in the past 3 months (actually no jobs at all) and on the queues the last action was in July 2021.

What are you using the queues for?

Yesterday, I did clone the queue items and used it with a process locally. I agree there was no job in the default folder however queue items were added yesterday and processed as well.

I’ll appreciate if our team could restore the default folder.

@mrkrunaldoshi the team managed to restore your folder. can you please check?