Licensing FAQ for Automation Cloud
How to enable/disable User License Management?
To enable User License management, log in as an Organization administrator > Navigate to Admin -> Settings -> Advanced > Scroll to the end and click on ENABLE for User license management.
Once enabled, it is not currently possible to disable User License Management.
Note: User license management is enabled by default for all organizations created after March 1, 2021. In Unified Pricing, user license management is mandatory if you want to view and manage user licenses.
IMPORTANT:
· User license management automatically sets the Enforce user authentication, disable robot key authentication security setting in Orchestrator. Any users who use robot key authentication can no longer connect their robots to Orchestrator until they switch to interactive authentication. This setting is incompatible with classic folders.
· If you are now switching to secure authentication, such as Interactive Sign-in SSO, this requires recompiling the workflows that use Orchestrator activities or make direct HTTP calls to the Orchestrator API utilizing 2020.10 activity packages or later.
There is a chance the job execution will fail if at least one of the following dependencies is used in an automation project:
· UiPath.System.Activities < 20.10.0
· UiPath.Persistence.Activities < 1.1.7
· UiPath.DataService.Activities < 20.10.0
· UiPath.Testing.Activities < 1.2.0
Use the Project Dependencies Mass Update Tool in Studio to update process dependencies to versions greater than or equal to those provided above. Test before deploying in production.
How to get rid of the "You have more licenses allocated to your services than you have available to your organization.." message from Automation Cloud?
This error is generally observed when there is a renewal of the license, and fewer licenses than before are purchased. However, all the previously available licenses are assigned, causing this error.
Follow the steps below to remove the error message:
- Log in to Automation Cloud as an Organization Administrator, and navigate to the "Admin-->Licenses" page
- Select the 'Users', "Robots & Services" tab, and take note of available runtimes (Unattended, Testing, etc). Overallocated licenses has a warning sign and the consumption level is red. Hovering over the consumption shows the number of license units that have been allocated. For example, in the image below, there are 47 Data Fabric units available, but 90 are currently allocated, leading to the warning message observed.
- Once the overallocated licenses are identified, the overallocated count has to be removed from the tenant/User & Groups.
If User License management is disabled, then use the following steps:
- In Admin, click on the tenant in the left menu > Licenses
- Click on 'Edit Allocation' at the top right. A new side menu with current allocations will open.
- Decrease the allocations of the overconsumed licenses and click on SAVE. Repeat steps 1 and 2 for any other tenant that has the extra licenses allocated.
- Once all overallocated licenses are removed, navigate back to the Organization License page: Admin > Licenses. The overallocation warning will be removed.
If User License Management is enabled, for licenses under 'Robot & Services', the steps are as follows:
- Scroll down to the 'License Allocation to Tenants' section and click on 'Edit Allocation' for the respective tenant where the license is overallocated.
- A new side menu with current allocations will open. Update the allocation to remove the overallocated count. Click on SAVE.
- Repeat steps 1 and 2 for all applicable tenants.
- Once all overallocated units are removed, refresh the page. The warning message will be removed.
Note: The same steps can be done from Tenant > Licenses > Edit Allocation
For licenses under the 'Users' section, the steps are the following:
- Scroll down to the 'License Allocation to Groups'/'License Allocation to Users' section. For groups, the count of licenses is provided in brackets next to the license name (if the count is greater than 1).
- Click on 'Edit Allocation' for the respective group/user.
- A side menu with the current allocation will open. Edit the allocations and click on SAVE. Repeat the same for all users/groups with the overallocated User licenses.
- Once all overallocations have been removed, refresh the page. The warning message will disappear.









