How to start automation

Hi,
I want to ask on how to start my automation.
Im doing my report on daily basis. So i will start by opening an excel file where it has already a header with data yesterday. What i do is i will open a text file, so it will replace a new data . How i want to automate it using uipath

1 Like

Hi @Nur_Amin

Please use excel activities to read and write to excel…and then write text file/read text file for your text activities. Excel is generally read into a datatable which is like a table format

Cheers

Can you give me example? Im new to this

Hi @Nur_Amin

Please go theough this

or alternately through the official site

Cheers

I dont get it with the video

Hi @Nur_Amin

Did you do your basic training on academy? I would suggest that because you need a basic understanding of activities and how to use…

With current info i can see that you need to read excel and text but what you want to do with it is something only you know…giving more details on it will give a chance to point you to exact activity what you need to use

Cheers

What the meaning of this? I already do the read file

Hi @Nur_Amin

What activity are you using?

Cheers

Read text file

Hi @Nur_Amin

Thats is a warning.not an error…you would have given a string as path…assign string to a variable and pass the variable here…then it would not show the warning

Cheers

I think im a bit lost. What i need to put in this generate data table?

I start with read text file. Is it correct i put the text file that i want to convert to the excel? Then what should i do next?

1 Like

Hi @Nur_Amin

Say you have data in string like this

A,b,c

Then if you pass this string to genwrate datatable and give row separator as new line character and column separator as comma… this string will be converted to a table with twp rows and 3 columns

Then use write range to write this data to a excel

Cheers

May i ask your kindness to teach me step by step?

Hi @Nur_Amin