How to copy from excel and paste into a web search box?

Rookie needs help!

I imagine this may be covered in the forum somewhere, but I am pretty new to UiPath and need some help pronto!

I have an excel spreadsheet with values in column A which I need to copy and paste into a search box on a web portal. I then need to copy and paste the text that appears on screen into column C and repeat this process, working down the rows of column A.

Could anyone help? Or point me in the right direction?

Much appreciated
Liam

Use excel application scope and read excel through read range activity.

This will give you excel data in for of a DataTable. Now use for each loop for data table and use Get Row Item give the index or column name to get the value or you can simply type row(“ColumnName”).ToString to get value.

Store this value in a variable, Use Open Browser activity to open the browser then use Type Into activity and hit enter to search or click search button.

See this sample structure -

Main.xaml (11.2 KB)

3 Likes

@PrankurJoshi
Thanks for the timely response. I appreciate the help.

A bit confused by the sample structure you have provided (major rookie). In the For Each Row section I have entered foreach row in “here I have typed the column name” which produces a compiling error value of type ‘string’ cannot be converted to ‘system.data.data table’

Then how do I store this value as a variable to search in browser?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

@Lwhite Follow below link and download the file you can get the solution

1 Like

Hi @Lwhite,

To copy the data in the excel sheet. you can use the below activity.

Regards
Balamurugan.S

1 Like

Hi @Lwhite, I have the same error. Did you manage to fix it? Can you please share the xaml file? It’s much appreciated.

Thank you!

Hi Alina,

What is the issue you are facing? Can you brief it so that I will try to provide some help.

Thanks,
Hari

Hi Hari,