How to automate "favorite song" in Spotify with global hotkey?

Hi guys,

Complete RPA newbie here. Had experience in AHK before, but never before in UiPath.

For starters, I’d like to learn how to automate “favorite song” in Spotify with global hotkey. I tried playing with it but got the following error:

[code]The workflow has validation errors. Review and resolve them first.

System.Activities.InvalidWorkflowException: The workflow has validation errors. Review and resolve them first. —> System.Activities.ValidationException: Value for a required activity argument ‘Selector’ was not supplied.
— End of inner exception stack trace —[/code]

Hi,

You get that error because two activities in your workflow are missing the selector: Click Trigger and Key Press Trigger. For both of these activities you need to click on “Indicate element on screen” and then point to the element (button / text box / control / entire form / window) that you want monitor for clicks and key combination.
The “selector”, which is used by the robot to identify the control to operate, will be then added to the activity.

If you just started automation with UiPath Studio, I would recommend you to create an account on http://academy.uipath.com and to take the Level 1 - Foundation course. Many other courses are available and you can take all, if you want, free of charge.

Best regards
Silviu

1 Like

I tried using anchorbase, get element, click but to no avail as I realised that UI Explorer is unable to detect the elements in Spotify app (it highlights the entire application). what alternative can we try?

I noticed the same for Word documents too. The whole body (or main screen, except the ribbon and buttons above) is highlighted and I am unable to scrape tables from word documents.

Yes, it looks like individual elements are not detected inside the Spotify desktop application. I had a look using UiExplorer and seems that it is build using HTML and rendered using Chrome application.