Extract Table from PDF to Excel without DU

Hello folks,

I am trying to get this table data from PDF to excel using activities and not Document understanding.

This is the sample data, similarly there are many more files.
Single FIle Sample.pdf (390.4 KB)

I am using:
1 . Read PDF Text to get the string text.
2. Using string manipulation.
3. Generate Data Table to convert that to Data Table
4. Write range to write the data to excel.

I am not able to get the values in structured format as it is in PDF, can anyone help me with that ASAP? please share the expression as that will help me, I am new to this domain.

You can try that with Regex
Have you tried ?

@Sudharsan_Ka Thanks for your response, I am not from Technical / coding background, I took a shift from management domain, that is why I am finding help here, I don’t know regex yet. at learning phase :smiley:

If you could help me with that I can try that out.

Thanks.

Hi @Rajesh_Shet

Here is the workflow

Sample.xaml (7.0 KB)
and Excel file
Sample.xlsx (9.0 KB)

The same way as you created
1 . Read PDF Text to get the string text.(Properties-> Preserve Formating =True)
3. Generate Data Table to convert that to Data Table

1. Write range to write the data to excel.

Let me know if this works

Regards
Sudharsan

1 Like

Thanks alot @Sudharsan_Ka let me try that.

If you have more files in the folder
Steps will be like :
1 )For Each Item in Directory.GetFiles(“The Path of your folder in which the files will be there”,“*.pdf”) (This will get all the excel files and store it as string of array)(Properties->Arguments=String)

Inside steps will be same as above
Sample.xaml (7.9 KB)

Hi @Sudharsan_Ka,

Please avoid attaching only xaml files as reponses to questions.

What is the approach you used? Show the person asking the question why the suggested approach is a good / reliable approach.