Automating Web page handling without VMs, just using DOM and HTML interpretation

Hello
Im new to UiPath and im trying to find easily if its able to handle DOM/HMTL full interpretation without a VM. Allocating and deallocating VMs is a pain ,expensive and slow.
I would like to ask directions on the documentation regarding this functionality.

Besides this, i suppose that smaller containers could be used, and GDI windows primitives could be interpreted and virtually rendered/handled in a similar way. Is there any effort regarding this path?

Thanks
Alex

1 Like

wonder if someone have any tip or reference to share

What do you mean without a VM? UiPath is UI automation. You have to have the automation running in a Windows UI. You don’t have to allocate/deallocate VMs to do this. You just need one. Then if you have multiple automations you want to run at the same time you may need additional VMs in the future. You don’t allocate a VM, run an automation, then deallocate the VM.

You could, of course, use a physical computer (ie laptop, desktop, or server) to run the automation jobs. But most people use VMs for scalability.

Think in this way. A website in a browser is expected to be way easier to be interpreted / deconstructed than a fully featured desktop app. Its not a simple task, but very doable to have an interpreter (maybe even an internal virtual screen manager with OCR) that could act in the same way as a browser, managing the website HTML/CSS DOM structure for interaction
Maybe this describe more what this technique is all about (extrapolating it)

I dont need a VM or even an emulated machine for a browser. A much simpler UiPath server could handle way more automations than spawning VMs.

Btw, this rabbit hole could go further, interpreting Windows GDI(+)/Direct2D and adding even Windows API analysis/handling, preserving screen independence / isolation