Trying to extract page from multiple PDFs with ForEach loop (need help)

Hello, I’m new to UiPath and I’m trying to make some demo processes to show the software to my co-workers to see if it is something we can use in our environment. I’m trying to create a process that will look at all of the PDF files in a directory and then run a for each loop on each to extract a specified page. I’m getting the below compile error. I think I’m using the wrong variable type but I can’t seem to find a type that will work. Any help is appreciated.

Hi @mrice1982

Can you try passing ‘file’ to the “Extract PDF Page Range” activity?

Let me know if this works

1 Like

Thanks for the help. I had tried that before and was getting a different compile error. I tried changing it back and got the below error. After some googling I was able to get the variable types matched up in a way that does not result in any compile errors but when I run the process it only extracts the page from one of the PDF files in the directory instead of all of them. Any ideas?

Glad it worked.

What do you have set as the ‘OutputFileName’ property?

1 Like

Hi @mrice1982,

Try changing the TypeArgument of the for loop to String:

I have had similar issues in the past and would keep forgetting to change this. Let me know how that works :slight_smile:

2 Likes

@mrice1982

I was also reading somewhere that in order to loop through PDFs, you need the paid version of UiPath. Not sure if that still is true, but maybe something to look into.

1 Like

I have a file path to a non-existent PDF. I was hoping the process would create the PDF and add the extracted pages. It does create the PDF, but it only includes the PDF from the second PDF in the folder (there are only two in the folder I’m looping through).

Hmm, that’s odd, maybe that is what is going on. Thanks for your help with this. Got me closer to a working process anyway.

@mrice1982