Trim or substring

hello everybody

i’m new in uipath and a have a question.
i need to use a trim or substring formulas in a string for this case:
old string: 10.01 / 01.01 / 01.10
new string: 10.1 / 1.1 / 1.10

how can I do this?

Best regards.

1 Like

newS = oldS.Replace("01","1")

7 Likes

Hello badita

I just need to remove the leading zeros…

Examples: 10.01 → new 10.1
01.01 → new 1.1

I made a substring for to get variable1 → 10 and variable2 → 01. I need remove only leading zero.
the expected result is variable1 + “.” + variable2 = 10.1

Tks.

If you have it separated already, you can use .TrimStart:
newS = oldS.TrimStart({"0"c})

Sidenote: the c is to tell the interpreter that the “0” string should be treated as a char. { } are for array initializers (since it only accepts a char array, not single chars).

8 Likes

Thanks andrzej.kniola
It worked!

Best regards.

Hi Folks!!

i would like to use this post to make a question to you, if you allow to me.
i have a a string like 123456_F1 and i need to trim the three last chars , but i don’t know how.
The string could be not the same i.e. 1234567891234_F3, this is the reason why i need to trim the three last chars.
i’ll hope it will not disturb in this post.:sweat_smile:

To remove last three characters from string you can use string.Substring(Int32, Int32) and give it the starting index 0 and end index three less then the string length. It will get the substring before last three characters.

myString = myString.Substring(0, str.Length-3);

it retrieves a substring from this instance. The substring starts at a specified character position

You can also using String.Remove(Int32) method to remove the last three characters by passing start index as length - 3, it will remove from this point to end of string.

myString = myString.Remove(myString.Length-3);

String.Substring Method (Int32, Int32)
String.Remove Method (Int32)

Or