Selecting an item - selector issue

I am rather new to UIPath and having an issue with selecting items from a list with a “Click activity”

Schermafbeelding 2020-10-25 om 21.02.48

I initially selected the 1ste Ellen Stymans from the list and modified my Fuzzy Selecter as follows:

Where fullName is de full name is set toe “Ellen Vekeman”.

With the targeting methods set to both FuzzySelector and Image is always finds and selects the “Ellen Stymans” item.

With only FuzzySelector set the activity gives the following error:

How can I make that I can select the right entry from this list.

Here’s the HTML code of the list:

And a screenshot of the “Click Activity” properties

Any tips/help is much appreciated.

Hello @Hedwig_Van_Damme,

Did you tried Select Item Activity? Might resolve your issue.

Vasile.

1 Like

Hi Vasile,

Actually I did. But that gives: “The indicated target is not a valid UI element for the SelectItem action”.

On the same page there is a real dropdown and that works perfectly.
It’s not a dropdown box I think. When you type something in the field it presents the names that match what one types. But typing the entire name doesn’t help either than de ‘list’ of suggested names is empty.

I also took a look at the “Find children” activity but I can’t seem to set the correct selector for that.

Hi @Hedwig_Van_Damme
The detailed information about the issue is much appreciated.
However, it is still difficult to comment on exactly what needs to change. But just from looking at the current data, I’d say make the attribute ‘aaname’ more flexible.
Right now, it’s looking for a drop-down item with aaname value '' i.e. Blank value. This will never be the case because the aaname is usually always the actual text present in the item.
Can you try making it either wildcard match ( * ) or omit it completely or use the variable for aaname instead of check:text (either-or).

Hi @RPAForEveryone

I changed the fuzzySelector to: