Retrieve information from an email

Hello community. I have a case to develop on UI Path as part of a business project.

I need to search for certain words in the body or subject of an email. So I use REGEX to filter the words to search.

I tried with Outlook Mail Message trigger but I can’t put my result in a variable. I also used foreach, I get the subject and body fine using item.ToString. I would like to assign these to a variable in order to retrieve my result.

As a beginner I would like to know the best way to retrieve information in variables.

Thank you beforehand

Hi @DimitriLYR

Welcome to forum

Regarding your question.

You need to filter only the mails which had certain words in subject and body, right?

Thanks & Regards,
Nived N

No, I recover all unread emails from a folder.

On these unread emails, I have to find “keywords” in the subject and/or body (Names of suppliers). Once the correspondence is made, I download the attachment (Invoice) to put it in the associated file (Supplier file)

Ok so after extracting the the required mails, u need to find the specific words, and then if the specific word is found, u had to download the attachment and save in the specific folder corresponding to the keyword/supplier , right ?

Exactly that! :slight_smile:

Hi @DimitriLYR,

I hope I understood your question correctly. I have tested and managed to assign the value of the Mail Message Body to a variable and then write it to the output pane. Please see the attached picture.

Regards,
JM

1 Like

@DimitriLYR
Great,

So the approach u had to follow is :

1. Extract all the unread emails using get emails from outlook activity and store in arrEmail variable.

2. Now loop through each mail in arrEmail using for each loop,

inside the loop do the following:

assuming that u had supplier names stored somewhere (let’s say u had stored in excel file and u had read the excel and store in dt1 datatable variable)