Regex based extractor extracting all value from all the pages of the pdf

I am using Document Understanding’s Regex Extractor to extract “total” from multiple pdf’s. All the pdf’s have multiple copies of the same page which I cannot remove. Trouble is that the regex extractor is extracting all the instances of “total” from all the pages. So if the pdf contains 3 pages, then 3 duplicates of “total” are returned. I only want the value extracted from the first page and not other pages. Any help is appreciated!

Hi @shrey.shah

Try with below expression

System.Text.RegularExpressions.Regex.Match("Inputstring","Your Pattern").Groups(1).Tostring

Groups(1) → It will return the First value from the group

Regards
Gokul

1 Like

Thank you @Gokul001 for your time. I am using Regex extractor from the Document Understanding package so where do I insert the regex you mentioned? Sorry but I am new to uipath.

Hi @shrey.shah

Have a look on the thread

Have a look on the document

Regards
Gokul

Ok I understood where to input the expression (in the advanced field right?). The field that I want to extract is total amount which has a pattern as “Rs. xxxxxx”. So in the expression you provided, “Your Pattern” will be substituted with “Rs.” and “Inputstring” will be substituted with?

Hi @shrey.shah

I’m not able to get you. Can you share the screenshot

Regards
Gokul

Hi @Gokul001
This is the field I want to extract!

Screenshot 2022-03-09 104213

This is the regex builder where I am typing the regex you mentioned!

Hi @shrey.shah

In the Value Just give the Regex Patten

Regards
Gokul

Hi @Gokul001
That is what I was doing previously as shown below:

But this is returning value from all the pages of the pdf. I only want the value from the first page!

If possible share the Input @shrey.shah

@Gokul001 By Input you mean the pdf files?

Yes @shrey.shah

Hi @shrey.shah

Have you try with selecting the option in the drop down

Check → SingleLine

Regards
Gokul

1 Like