LINQ - Select rows based on whether their sum meets a condition

Hi everyone,

I’ve run into a problem as I cannot get a proper working linq statement her.

Suppose I have a DataTable with x rows and I have to sort based on the sum of the column Quantity. Then I have a condition Requested Quantity = 20. I need to find the rows equal to the exact sum of RequestedQuantity only where the combination of 3 rows is equal to it.

Bin Quantity
1 10
2 5
3 5
4 10
5 15

I can’t seem to figure out the proper linq syntax to get this to work. My starting point is this:
(From row In StorageBins.AsEnumerable.GroupBy( _
Convert.ToDouble(Function (x) x(“Quantity”), cultureInfo)).Sum( _
Function (y) Convert.ToDouble(y(“Quantity”), cultureInfo) = Double.Parse(RequestedQuantity,cultureInfo)))

Initially I am just trying it to do so I get any rows that is equal to my condition, without the exact 3 rows. However that is my end-goal.

I’m not an expert in Linq unfortunately. I hope some of you might be!

Thanks

1 Like

@sonnymeyer

the sum of all quantities will allways the same one sum.
So Grouping will not lead to a set of combinations between rows. I didnt check in detail but I would expect 1 group with an amount of 45 with 5 group members

What I understand from your requirements (I will it elaborate on a set combinations of 2)

• combine each row with an additona onel to a pair like 1-10 with 1-10, 2-5,3-5… etc
    • So we got a carteasian product n x n rows
  • sum up the Quantity of this pairs
  • filter the sum on 20
  • dump out which groups it will be

In LINQ:
(From a In dtData.AsEnumerable
From b In dtData.AsEnumerable
Where Not a(0).ToString.equals(b(0).toString)
Let s = Convert.ToDouble(a(“Quantity”), cultureInfo) + Convert.ToDouble(b(“Quantity”), cultureInfo)
Where s=dblSum
Select New DataRow(){a,b}).toList

• do the cartisan product with the two froms
  • filter out where a row is compaired with itself as we do want clean combinations
  • sum up
  • filter on the sum