Summing duplicate rows with conditional statement

Sample_data.xlsx (15.6 KB)

Basically what I’m after is the equivalent of this:

=SUMIFS($C$2:$C$17,$C$2:$C$17,“>0”,$B$2:$B$17,“<>Text B”,$A$2:$A$17,A2)

That is, sum all amounts belonging to the same ID, given that they are postive numbers and don’t have the “Text B” text in column B.

I can do this in the excel sheet I am importing from, but it’s very slow on large number of rows, so I’m looking for a better way of doing it. Can this be done via an assign operation and some sort of magic?

1 Like

Usually SUMIFs are time taking. That’s why it is slow for large number of rows.

Without formulas, you can directly do it in the UIPath using LINQ queries or data table operations.

You can apply filters on the columns to the data table and calculate the sum based on LINQ query which is faster than calculating formulas on Excel.

Regards,
Karthik Byggari

1 Like

Thanks. Any pointers on how to use LINQ for this? I’ve never done that before.

@mickeymack
Scenario has a Chance to do it with linq or in Combination with plain activities. I can have a Look on in later.

I’ve done some changes to the data.table so I’ve removed the text column (filter on it rather) and use this to sum duplicates:

(From p In db_in.Select
Where p(“ID”).ToString.Trim.Equals(ID) And Convert.ToDouble(p(“Amount”).ToString.Trim)>0
Select Convert.ToString(p(“Amount”))).Sum(Function(x) Convert.ToDouble(x)).ToString

This seems to be working at least.

I do feel that WE also need a group by. Give some little time

@mickeymack
I did a split on two assigns:

First: Filtering
(From p In dtDemo.AsEnumerable
Where Not p(1).ToString.Trim.Contains(“Text B”) And Convert.ToDouble(p(2).ToString.Trim)>0).CopyToDataTable

Second: Summing Group Sums
(From row In dtFiltered.AsEnumerable()
Group row By ID=row(0) Into Group
Select New Object() {ID, Group.Sum(Function(x) Convert.ToDouble(x(2).ToString.Trim))}).ToList

Returning a list of Object()