Level 1 - Lesson 2 - Practice 1 selector localization issue

I just started learning UiPath, and at Level 1 - lesson 2 - Practice 1, I tried to open Notepad.exe with UiPath.Core.Actvities.OpenApplication, but the selector was not generated. I downloaded the “Lesson 2 Practice 1 - Simple Math Question - Answers” project and checked the same selector. It also indicated an (invalid selector) error. (see picture)
If I let run the project, the notepad will open properly and then com up shortly the following error message, which clearly indicates the selector error.

“An ExceptionDetail, likely created by IncludeExceptionDetailInFaults=true, whose value is:
System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException: Cannot find the UI element corresponding to this selector:
at UiPath.Core.Activities.ScopeActivity.EndExecute(NativeActivityContext context, IAsyncResult result)
at UiPath.Core.Activities.AsyncNativeActivity.BookmarkResumptionCallback(NativeActivityContext context, Bookmark bookmark, Object value)
at System.Activities.Runtime.BookmarkCallbackWrapper.Invoke(NativeActivityContext context, Bookmark bookmark, Object value)
at System.Activities.Runtime.BookmarkWorkItem.Execute(ActivityExecutor executor, BookmarkManager bookmarkManager)”

I was looking for “invalid selector” on the forum, but I couldn’t find a solution or I didn’t understand it.
Please help me, what am I doing wrong? If it stays so, I can’t continue learning.

Regards and thanks.

Windows 10, UiPath 2019.4.2, .NET Framework 4.8.

1 Like

Buddy @mmatt
Welcome to UiPath community buddy

Well kindly pass this file name as input to your open application activity property
“C:\WINDOWS\system32\notepad.exe”

The reason why its showing as invalid is the notepad window is not active buddy, thats why but its not a big deal your selector looks perfect, you are going good actually
notepad.zip (3.3 KB)

Here is your xaml for reference buddy, hope this would help you identify the issue