How to rename file to dynamic names

Hello people, I am new to uipath studioX and I would like to rename the files dynamically like “file_v01_yyyymmdd.xlsx”, “file_v02_yyyymmdd.xlsx” and etc. Currently, when I rename the file name it will give an error saying “it cannot create the file that is already exist although the date in the filename is different”. I saw a solution on this problem in studio and I try to apply in using the text function in studioX but it’s not working as it intended. Hence, I would like to seek some help here.

Thank you in advance !

Try “file_v02_”+datetime.now.toString(“yyyyMMdd”)+“.xlsx”

Hi @winne.oo

Welcome to Community,

First you need to get your file name from the path.

then You can use “YourPath”+“YourFileName” +datetime.now.tostring(“yourdesiredformat”) +“.xlsx”

Thanks.

@sb001 and @suraj.setty thank you so much for the response. But I want the v01 and v02 to change dynamically like a version to indicate which file is the latest downloaded one.

1 Like

I tried both of your solution @sb001 and @suraj.setty but it did not work. I get error message saying “Illegal characters in path”.

Hi @winne.oo

If you want to know the latest file that has been downloaded you can use the

“YourPath”+“YourFileName” +datetime.now.tostring(dd_MM) +“.xlsx”

Which will include the complete timestamp , so each file will have the unique timestamp attached to it ,try this

datetime.now.ToString(“dd_MM_yyyy_hh_mm_ss”)

Thanks.

Hi @suraj.setty