How to and where to learn Vb.Net Expressions/functions

i am learning uipath through academy, Goind deeper and deeper i can see that We using vb.net expressions more and more in our activities.

I have zero coding background, is their a way to learn these expressions or any source where i can find these expressions.

Examples i meant by - “item.ToString.Substring(0,2).ToLower”
i can’t understand the meaning of this expression, so is there a way or source to learn the functions/ Expressions.

1 Like

Just use the Microsoft documentation for any .NET stuff.

Hello @Bhagyaraj_Digumarthi

It’s possible (speaking from experience here). UiPath Studio is low code but not really ‘no code’. You still need to understand a lot. Think of UiPath as a big ‘tool’ - with a very big manual. Don’t be put-off though - some of it is easy, some is not so easy. Just start simple and give yourself time :wink:

You need to read and watch tutorials to grasp concepts before you can use them correctly. Like different variable types (What is a: string, boolean, int32, datatable, dictionary). See my Tips at the bottom of this post.

The below posts will help you understand your question in a simple way but may not fully explain it.
String Manipulation:

I have attached a few of the best Forum Posts which act as refreshers and may be suitable for new users. I would strongly recommend bookmarking/save and reference all the posts I have shared.

Additional Posts on some RPA fundamentals:
Regex:

DateTime:

DataTables:

You must make notes that will help you embed what you learn with each bot - Start a Word Document - “UiPath Notes.docx”

Simply, you will need to read a book and practice. Take a look at this video from @AndersJensen

Whether you buy and read this book or not, this is the adventure you are about to go on:

Practice Building Bots => More skills + Exposure => More Advanced Bots => Review designs/simplify/share for feedback => More skills => Practice Building Bots