Download Excel from Website

Hi,

I am new to UiPath. I need help to create a bot to automate the task of downloading an excel from a webpage and save it in a local machine. I have a requirement to -

Open a webpage link
Click on an Option. This option will open a window to save the file
Choose the folder location in the local machine
Replace the existing file with the new file.

Thanks in Advance!

1 Like

Hi
Welcome to uipath community
Hope these steps would help you resolve this

—use a OPEN BROWSER activity and pass the url of the web page as input string
—inside that container use a CLICK activity to click on the download button and enable simulate click property
—then use TYPE INTO activity where mention the file path of the downloaded file to be saved in and enable simulate type property
—this will save the file to the folder we specified
—suddenly if any pop up up comes like this file already exists use a ELEMENT EXISTS activity to find the element and if that element appears it will give us a output of type Boolean named bool_output
—now use a IF condition like this bool_output = True if true it will go to THEN PART where use a CLICK activity to click on the ok button or goes to Else part where leave it empty
-then use CLICK activity to click on SAVE button to save the file

Cheers @shraddha_singh

1 Like

I have never found the type into activity for IE save as dialogue to be reliable. I always end up using the default file name and then moving the file.

Yah that would fine either
But with proper selector it’s possible to type in to the field
Or it’s possible even with set to clipboard and send hot key with key as ctrl+v

Cheers @Craig1

Consider using this:
https://go.uipath.com/component/save-as-file-download-for-internet-explorer-70545

1 Like

Hi @shraddha_singh

1.Use Open Browser activity pass the URL. If you are working chrome in properties select chrome browser type.