"This control does not support data extraction" error

Hi there, I am new to Uipath and am testing out the software for my company.
Tried using the data scrapping wizard to retrieve information from a website, however encountered the error message “This control does not support data extraction”.
I have tried searching online for a solution, to no avail.
Please help!

data scrapping activity meant for only to extract structured data from your browser to a database, .csv file or even Excel spreadsheet.
If its not in tabular form then you can’t use Data Scraping .
Use screen scraping and then use string manipulation to get the required data out of it.

Hi ddapadil,

Thanks for the advise!
Somehow the data scraping wizard works on my chrome but not on IE.

Hi,

When do you encounter the error? When creating the workflow or when executing it?
Does anything work in IE browser (like selecting objects inside web pages, or other automation) ?
Does this happen on a specific web site or on all websites?

What Windows and IE version do you use?
those were Qn asked by @adrian :slight_smile:

I got this same problem with Chrome, but works with IE. There is no error on execution, but when you try to do data scrape from Chrome it doesn’t recognize the table. It recognizes fine with IE. I build it with Chrome and it worked before, it just stopped working for some reason. Chrome version is the same and I tried to setup the plugin again. It didn’t resolve the problem, so now I am using IE for data scraping.

Problem solved! So, it is a setting in the Chrome add on. You go to the extensions setting chrome://extensions/, select Uipath, and put on settings ‘allow in incognito’ and ‘allow access to file URLs’.

3 Likes

i m trying to extract weeklly data table from below url.