Studio allows me to set a default "Nothing" value for non-nullable types, yet later it complains when I try to make use of it

I’m not used to program in Visual Basic (yet I have some background).

I’m declaring a couple of Int32 variables in the most outer scope of the project. I expected to use a change in these to control the flow of a state diagram project. As it allowed me to assign a “Nothing” default value to them, I wanted to use the value of these as transitioning conditions, including the value of greater than zero and having no value.

Well, when I try to compare the value with “Nothing”, then it it complains about “‘Is’ operator does not accept operands of type ‘Integer’. Operands must be reference or nullable types”.

Then I wonder why Studio allowed me to assign this “Nothing” value from the beginning, allowing further assumptions and programming that later has to be undone.

If the type doesn’t allow Nothing, then constraint it from the beginning. That’s the purpose of strongly-typed languages.

I asked also ChatGTP about this and here’s the full conversation, with the replies I got from it:

User

in Visual Basic, why if I can assign a “Nothing” value to an Int32 variable as default, later the compilator complains about not being possible to compare that same variable against being “Nothing”?

ChatGPT

In Visual Basic, an Int32 variable (or any other value type variable) cannot be assigned a value of Nothing directly because Nothing represents the default value for reference types, not value types. Value types, such as Int32, hold their values directly rather than references to an object in memory, so they cannot be set to Nothing.

However, Visual Basic does allow the use of nullable value types using the Nullable(Of T) structure or the shorthand notation T?, where T represents a value type. This allows you to assign a null-like value to a value type. For example, you can use Integer? instead of Int32, and then you can assign Nothing to it.