Need help with Excel sequence

Hi,
I am reading data from a worksheet and writing the data into a new file. My question is how can I change my output file name every time I run the sequence? how can I keep the old output file and create a new one when I run the sequence again?
Thank you.

Does your output file have different requirements? Like is it a daily run and you need to make the date?

If so you could do something like “Daily Run”+now.tostring or something in your output variable.

You can save you dynamic file name in a variable and yes you can use this

"FileName"+DateTime.Now.ToString+".xlsx"

Thanks,
Prankur

1 Like

It’s a weekly run and I would like to name it based on the date. (results-11-28-2018)
Thanks

Hi Prankur,
I am new to UiPath and I tried to define the dynamic file name in a variable but it’s not working for me.
Can you give me more details in how I can define the variable?
Thank you,
Ahmed

What variables did you try? and what message is it giving you?

I tried a string variable and in the default box I typed in “filename”+DateTime.Now.ToString+“.xlsx”
I didn’t get an error message it just kept overriding the same file.
I am not sure if I am doing it the right way.
Thanks

do you have a copy of your xaml file?

Main.xaml (9.3 KB)
Thanks

Hi @alotfy

Try this. Hope it helps.

Main (4).xaml (8.4 KB)

2 Likes

@alotfy, ShilpiJ’s workflow will probably work for you, but I think we can leave the time out of the filename and only put the date like so: “results”+Now.ToString(“yyyyMMdd”)+“.xlsx”