How to choose the type of exception in try catch

Hi everyone,

I am beginner in uipath. I am studying about try catch activity in uipath.
And I dont know what is the best practice to choose the type of exception in catches part and how to use each type of exception. I searched on internet but I haven’t found any good documents, examples about this. If you have any good documents about this, please let me know.
Sorry, because my english is not so good.

Thanks and Best Regards,
Hoang Anh.

3 Likes

Hi,
Try Catch Activity in UiPath is similar to the Error Handling concept in programming languages.

The group of activities which you may expect failure can be placed inside the Try block and resolution activities for the error is placed inside the catch block.

You can catch the error based on exception type and can create handling for that exception individually or else you can use generic exception which catch whatever exception occurs.

Final- Activities inside final block will be executed irrespective of the error occurrence. Final is not mandatory but catch is.

Look into this XAML file try_catch.xaml (7.5 KB)

7 Likes

thanks you so much, ranjith.
It helps me a lot.

Small correction - neither of them is individually, but you have to have at least one of them. Try-Catch, Try-Finally and Try-Catch-Finally are all valid combinations.

5 Likes

How does it work with two catches? In my workflow, I have a try catch within a for each, so for each row of the data, if i tell it to throw it will go to the catch, and do the next line of data.

I have just experienced the application im using, whilst entering the row information, crash. Is there a way to “catch” this crash, which comes through as an “activity timeout” message, but with this error, end the for each completely and end the workflow??