Extract word between two known words

Hi
Is there any way to read a particular word which is between two known words with the help of regex?
eg If input is Name ABCD Age, I need to extract ABCD.

Instead of using substring function, is there any way we can utilize any regex?

1 Like

Hi,

try this (?<=Name\s).*(?=\sAge)
This is a Lookbehind(Name) and Lookahead(Age)

BR,
Topi

1 Like

Hii
Thanks for quick reply.
I’m sorry as I’m new to regex but where exactly would I use this expression in UiPath?
I mean if I have a variable which holds the string and another one which holds the substring, how will i assign the result of this regex to the substring variable?

(?<=" + labelBefore + “)(.*?)(?=” + labelAfter + ")

Extract Text Between Labels.xaml (7.1 KB)

Regards…!!
Aksh

5 Likes

Thanks a ton. This works!!

Hello Aksh, do you have a Regex Tester reference ?

Hey @marcus

There are many sites exists but i prefers mostly https://regex101.com/ you can also give it a try :slight_smile:

Regards…!!
Aksh

What if we have 1234 instead of ABCD in between ??
or rather 12200.00?

@Robo

did not get u. even the number you are looking then it will be inside a string so it will work with that and then if needed can convert this to int.

*Correct me if I m getting it wrong.

Regards…!!
Aksh

Hi
Is there any way to read a particular word which is between two known words with the help of subscript()?
eg If input is Name1Name ABCD Age,
I need to extract ABCD.
Note-Using Subscript only

Try something like this in Invoke Code activity,

Dim St As String = “string pulled from the textfile suing reader which has key : text I want to keep - end of my string”
Dim pFrom As Integer = St.IndexOf("key : ") + "key : “.Length
Dim pTo As Integer = St.LastIndexOf(” - ")
Dim result As String = St.Substring(pFrom, pTo - pFrom)

Note: “key :” and " -" are the two string of the string’s starting and end which we need to search and get.
we can return the result to the workflow and can use it

Hi