Convert hash code(AES Input) to string(output) using VB.net code

Hi All,

I want to convert hash code (AES input text) to string (output text) and use the output text in further process. I need to do this in VB.net code.

Note : I have used cryptography activities working fine but as per my organization we need to use vb.net code only to convert that.

I am new to converting this using VB.net code. Could someone help me in writing the code?

@Palaniyappan @loginerror @Lahiru.Fernando @Pablito @balupad14 @balkishan @Jan_Brian_Despi @HareeshMR

@satishmypudi

You can try this

Dim keyBytes As Byte() = System.Text.Encoding.UTF8.GetBytes(SecretKey)
Dim hashBytes As Byte() = System.Convert.FromBase64String(InputHash)

Dim aes As System.Security.Cryptography.Aes = System.Security.Cryptography.Aes.Create()
aes.Key = keyBytes
aes.GenerateIV()

Dim decryptor As System.Security.Cryptography.ICryptoTransform = aes.CreateDecryptor()
Dim plainTextBytes As Byte() = New Byte(hashBytes.Length - 1) {}
Using ms As New System.IO.MemoryStream(hashBytes)
    Using cs As New System.Security.Cryptography.CryptoStream(ms, decryptor, System.Security.Cryptography.CryptoStreamMode.Read)
        cs.Read(plainTextBytes, 0, plainTextBytes.Length)
    End Using
End Using
plainText = System.Text.Encoding.UTF8.GetString(plainTextBytes)

cheers

1 Like

Thanks for the quick response here @Anil_G. I will implement this and let you know the results.

1 Like

Hi @Anil_G can you provide me sample input that needs to be given for input hash argument
because whatever the hash code i am giving is throwing below error. As i cannot provide my organization data here, requesting you to provide me sample input if possible.

@satishmypudi

First of confirm which encoding is being used I am using UTF-8 as you can see…while generating if the encoding is different for that then we need to change that parameter accordingly

cheers

hey @Anil_G