Chat communication

Hi all,
i want to have a skype conversation using uipath ,
Now , the bot can automatically recognize that he has a new conversation and can type some text , but now i want to recognize the message sent back .
any idea please?

In the past, I created some form of a chatbot (similar to Nightbot from Twitch.tv)
I had to break each message by the timestamp and continually monitor for new messages, and check that the last message was not already processed during a loop.

I’m not an expert though and that was just me creating something cool inside a game that had a chat box and scripting abilities.

I’m not entirely sure how you would get the text from the skype conversation though. It looks as though UiPath sees the entire skype window as one element.

There are some Chat bots in UiPath Go! that you could look at maybe:
https://go.uipath.com/components?search=chat#

There might be some chat bots out there for Skype to reference looking here:
Google Search

Regards.

2 Likes

I read in the Druid Chat Bot platform (found in Go!) that it works with Skype
“Chatting with the bots is possible in Intranet web pages (land bot page, skype for business, skype, slack or even in Facebook).”

1 Like

Thank you @ClaytonM

I have tried to extract the message sent , but i am getting all the details, i tried to read the message from the message box , but all want to read i just the message sent without the sender and the time
Capture
I only need to read the text in yellow , any idea please?

I would suggest maybe using Regex patterns.
You know it says “… message from … :” so you can use that with a look behind ("?<=")
And, you know that it always ends with a timestamp in format “hh:mm.”, so you can use a look ahead ("?=")

I’m not sure why there are commas, though.

Here is an example pattern that will get you close:

pattern = "(?<=((.*)a new message from(.*)\:))(.*)(?=([0-9]{2}\:[0-9]{2}\.$))"