Trying to extract columns from unaligned PDF data

Hello everyone, I am new to UiPath and the Studio. I have been working on it for the last few weeks and I read the forum etiquette and everything so I’ll try to formulate that right.

There is a PDF document that I need to extract all data from which I did, I stored it in a string variable and can display it in a message box for exemple.

The thing is that I want to extract the Text headers with the corresponding data column below but I am not sure how to achieve that. I searched many threads in the forum but haven’t found any that does quite what I need.

I attach images for reference. tell me if you have any idea. Anything helps.

Hi @A_E

Your first image is not clear

So overall u need to extract the table from PDF ?

Regards

Nived N :robot:

Happy Automation :relaxed::relaxed::relaxed::relaxed::relaxed:

Hi @A_E … You can try generate data table activity to convert it to the datatable…

If you dont have any sensitive information in that text file, is it possible to share it?

1 Like

Hi,

Though your image in not much clear.
But through table image you can follow these steps:

1. First split the string based on space present and replace it with “,”.
  2. Save it in a CSV file and then convert it into datatable.

Hope it helps,

Regards,
Sahil

1 Like

Here is the file

https://we.tl/t-gfuYZ5AcFz

What I have to do with it is:

• extract the table form which I did.

• Split each column and only retain the first, third and fourth.

• Add the total amounts together in the third row and substract all the negative number from the big one at the top, row 11/08/2020.

• Finally I have to get rid of the “P” from the reference column and take all of that, put it in a new data table and print it in a console window

Thank you for your help Sahil.

I actually just uploaded the file, tell me if it helps figuring it out, thanks again.