Select does not work

Hello Gays,

I had to Filter a datatable with the following condition:

NDDCurrent_Day_DT.Select(“([Statut] is Null or [Statut] =‘’) AND ([Motif de traitement] is Null or [Motif de traitement]=‘’) AND ([Motif de rejet]= ‘Absence de Motif’)”).CopyToDataTable

i want to keep data with column “Statut” empty and [Motif de traitement] is empty and Motif de traitement] is empty and “Motif de rejet” is Absence de Motif

I’m not sure because you look like you did it right, however I’m not that good at using that syntax. You can try using the datatable as an enumerable instead.

It would look like this:
NDDCurrent_Day_Rows = NDDCurrent_Day_DT.AsEnumerable.Where(Function(r) r("Statut").ToString.Trim="" And r("Motif de traitement").ToString.Trim="" And r("Motif de rejet").ToString.Trim.ToUpper="ABSENCE DE MOTIF" ).ToArray

Then, check that it found rows in an If condition:
if NDDCurrent_Day_Rows.Count > 0

Reason you need to check the count of your array of rows is because if it found no matches, then it will throw an error if you try to use filtered dataset.
EDIT: you don’t need to check the count, if you just use it in a ForEach though to process the items.

Hope that helps.

Regards.

Add string.isnullorwhitespace(r(“Statut”).ToString.Trim) instead of r(“Statut”).ToString.Trim=“”

Aren’t both of those the same thing, just that one is using a .net method and one is not? It’s like saying var.Equals(str) or var=str

No one test for empty strings(nothing) and whitespaces. The other only whitespaces.

Thanks. I was just wondering.
I’m still not entirely sure it’s true nor needed (atleast in this case).

For example,
If var is Nothing, it will fail right? cause the variable has not been assigned anything. And if it is an empty string or one with whitespaces, var.Trim=“” would check the empty string.

But in the original posters question, he is looking at row items, and each one will always be either a string or an empty string.