Remove Duplicates with LinQ

Hi there,

I need to remove duplicates from a DataTable using LINQ. Specifically, I need to filter out all duplicates for a single column, maintaining the initial Datatable strucutre. Other methods, such as DefaultView, do not work as they print out only one column (the one containing duplicates).

Any suggestion would be highly appreciated, code examples would be terrific.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Nicolò

4 Likes

Hello!

I’m not good with LINQ but try something like this

dataTable = dataTable.AsEnumerable()
        .GroupBy(r => new { columnWithDuplic= r.Field<string>("columnWithDuplic"))})
        .Select(g => g.First())
        .CopyToDataTable();

If doesn’t work, let’s wait for someone with more experience hahaha :smiley:

Regards,

3 Likes

Yup, this one is not working :slight_smile:

Try this (similar to @Lucas.Pimenta’s answer but in VB.NET):

.GroupBy(Function(i) i.Field(Of String)("columnWithDuplic"))
	.Select(Function(g) g.First)
	.CopyToDataTable
10 Likes

Works fine! Thanks a lot!

Hey @ncompa
@Lucas.Pimenta answer will also work he just posted a c# version of Lambda Expressions and workflow supported Vb version so to use that in studion you have to follow the way mentioned by @florin.stan

@Lucas.Pimenta answet will also work just some modification will be needed (VB version) so studion will take it :slight_smile:

Regards…!!
Aksh

3 Likes

what uipath activity are you putting this in? i am trying to do the same thing getting rid of duplicates but am unsure where you put this code. i have used Assign with LINQ but it gives me compile errors with this snippet you have.

The code is in an Assign activity. What errors are you getting?

i have this in the Value textbox of Assign…

(From x In dtNew.AsEnumerable()
.GroupBy(Function(i) i.Field(Of String)(“Employee ID”))
.Select(Function(g) g.First))
.CopyToDataTable()