Practice 3- Switch

Hi, Im new in Uipath so understand some steps are hard.

Im doing practice 3 - Switch in Variables, Data Types and Control Flow, but I don’t get completely 1 step( I try doing by myself but its hard because i dont know functions that are used in the solution, I guess it’s normal and in the future I will be capable to do it).

This is the solution:

Practice 3 Solution

1. Create the first Array of strings variable with default value of {“Ax001”,“Ax002”,“Ax003”,“Ax004”,“Ax005”,“Bx001”,“Bx002”,“Bx003”,“Cx001”,“Cx002”,“Cx003”,“Cx004”}

2. Create 3 Array of strings variables and instantiate them in the default by using new string(){}

3. Use a ‘For Each’ loop to iterate through the initial array and:

4. Use a ‘Switch’ inside the loop with the expression built to extract the first 2 letters using the ‘Substring’ method : item.Substring(0,2).ToLower

5. For each of the 3 cases (“ax”, “bx”, “cx”), use the ‘Concat’ method to add the item to the corresponding Array: i.e. axArray.Concat({item}).ToArray

6. Use 3 ‘Log Message’ activities to print the content of each of the 3 Arrays, by using the ‘String.Join’ method : i.e. string.Join(" ",bxArray).

All goes well except for I don’t understand how the program identifies exactly Ax, Bx or Cx.

I mean, you have your switch activity, default is done, ok, we go to the case ax that contain "axArray = axArray.Concat({item}).ToArray

When I read this, I understant that the variable “axArray” concat all the item variable, but actually it just add all Ax error, exclusively… That 's the part where I have problems to understand.

axArray.Concat ({item}). ToArray where this says to add only ax error?

Can you share your code ?

else you can ping me on sg2070156@gmail.com

"axArray = axArray.Concat({item}).ToArray

In Switch Activity, We have a condition in which we are getting First 2 value of each item and then based on ax , bx and cx it will divide and then added into array type variable.

1 Like