Object reference not set to instance of an object - please help

I’m new to Ui Path and am receiving the below error message when try to Add Data Row as an activity. I’ve looked it up in other forum topics, but I haven’t come across a fix that works. Can anyone help me please?

I’m trying to manipulate/extract excel file columns.

Thanks,
Dayton Kendrick

@dkendrick1

Welcome to the UIpath Community.

This error generally occurs when we are trying to assign null value. Please check whether you passed data properly or not.

To add to what @lakshman said, one of your variables has no value.

So either “row” or “Asiadt” have not yet been initialized. This means that one or both are created but have not yet been given a value of any kind. Check to make sure that you are assigning both of these a value at some point prior to the Add Data Row activity.

1 Like

Thanks for the tips Daniel, here’s what I have before the Data Row activity.

You have to initiate your Datatables first

3 Likes

@dkendrick1
This would seem to indicate to me that Asiadt is not initialized. You should set its “Default” value equal to “new System.Data.DataTable” or use an Assign activity to set it equal to “new System.Data.DataTable”.

Creating a variable is the equivalent of saying “I’m going to need this at some point, I’ll tell you what value it has later.” So when you try to add a row to the table later the computer freaks out because you haven’t yet told it what values (if any) the table should start with. When you tell it to use new System.Data.DataTable you’re saying “This datatable doesn’t yet exist, please give me a new one.”

1 Like

Hi @dkendrick1

Welcome to UiPath community buddy
First let me tell you why this occurs, as the message states, when any object say any variable in the ACTIVITY that shows this error has no value in it, or the variable assigned with another variable which doesn’t have any value in it… Will lead to this error…