Iterating a List of string within a Datatable

I am new to UI Path and I am exploring a bit complex structure kind of emulating an SQL table having an object field. type

Here ismy sequence::

1. Build database clientDatatable having two columns namely: Client (String), Offices(generic list of String)
  2. Assign a variable “offices” with new List(of String) ({“Detriot”,“New York”,“Los Angeles”})
  3. Add Data Row: using ArrayRow with value of {“company A”, offices}
  4. For Each Row in clientdatable
  5. For Each inside For Each Row

I used an explicit conversion: CType(rowdata(“Offices”),System.Collections.Generic.List(Of String)) to be able to iterate.

Note step 5: I cannot use For Each Row to iterate in Offices because one) it requires a Database, lastly, it returns an object as well.

My take:

I have been reading UI Path from the Academy for just a couple of weeks now, and in my opinion, most of the activities seems being tied up with .Net e.g. VB/C# which made this UI Path very powerful and better than other RPA tools out there. So, to become a successful UI Path developer, you need to know VB or C#.

I am a Blue Prism Certified and during those days that I was an Blue Prism and Logic app Developer, I have not use VB/C# in my automation, not even a single line, not because I don’t know C#. Needless to say, UI Path is no joke, you need to come from a programming background, (take for example my sequence above) unlike BP and Logic App

You can use the For Each activity to iterate over your list, instead of For Each Row.

As for learning the developer techniques behind UiPath, I highly recommend this course. It’s about $11, but it’s well worth it, since the instructor teaches you the developer techniques you’ll need to be successful with UiPath RPA. This is something I would love to see in the UiPath academy curriculum one day.