What is the best way to delay an activity?

I have a flow which uses a MoveFile loop to move and rename many files on my hard drive.

The files are of different sizes, and, if a file is too large, the loop will through an error on the next iteration because the MoveFile activity is still processing the large file. Is there any way of implementing a “wait until activity is completed” instruction?

I’m hoping for something more efficient than just specifying an exact # of millisecond to delay the loop.

Thanks!

I been using a Retry Scope for this scenario with an “Is True” activity in the condition to check if the file was moved. The Retry Scope allows you to set the number of tries so it doesn’t get stuck in an infinite loop, and it’s dynamic since it moves on once the “Is True” condition is true.

1 Like

Thanks, sorry, Im a beginner with this software. From your solution, I think my loop should look something like the one below. However, what would be the exact way to implement this?

For Each item in Directory
Retry Scope (if Move File = False)
Move File

Did you find the “Is True” activity? It’s in the activity package, I think is called “Workflow Manager” or something similar.

Then you can do:

For Each oldfilepath in Directory
    Move File (oldfilepath to newfilepath)
    Retry Scope
        action section: empty
        condition section: Is True activity (File.Exists(newfilepath)

The retry scope would go after the move file, so it waits to move on after it.

You may select to use the Path Exists activity in the condition section, instead of using Is True with File.Exists()

You may also decide to use two conditions so you can check if the file was moved out of the first location and into the new location. For example, File.Exists(newfilepath) AndAlso Not File.Exists(oldfilepath)