Want to know Correct Activity and Cannot find the UI Element error

Hello all,

I’m a beginner and searched if there is similar FAQ, but I cannot find one… so let me ask.

1. Is it correct activity “Type Into” to input a variable value in Web

Put in a field "生年月日 birthdate " on a SAP CRM WebUI

The variable date value should be today but 25 years ago.
Here is the screenshot of the bot

1. If #1 is correct activity and setting, how should I fix the “Cannot find the UI Element error”?

Thank you for your support in advance!

Can you repair the element using the repair button or redo the indicate on screen? If so, then run the activity manually (using test this activity) to see which part of the selector is changing if any on multiple iterations. One issue is you cannot use the validate button with a variable in the selector.

Hi @Oskarin ,

Yes, Type Into is the correct activity for writing text in the specified UI element.

Please check if your selector variable dtToday value matches the specified UI element’s tag property i.e. tag=‘1995/09/30’ is actually matching with the UI element tag property.

Follow the steps mentioned by @Matt_S for troubleshooting :slight_smile:

Thank you, I will follow the steps as Yogesh_Sanap says.

Hi @Yogesh_Sanap,

Thank you for your advice.
Please correct me if I understand wrongly…

I put variable, dtToday, in UiElement since it was empty.
Ui element tag property is not matched because “dtToday” is String.

Ui Element shows "Compiler error encountered processing expression “dtToday”.Value type String cannot convert to “UiPath.Core.UiElement”.

Can you please advise how to fix this unmatch?
Will changing Variable type in Variable from String to something Date?
If so, what type should be put to get “yyyy/mm/dd” style?

Thanks again.:slight_smile:

Hi @Oskarin,

You are getting this error because Type Into Activity → Element only support UiElement type variable.