Shred each line on PDF to new rows on excel

Hello,

I would like to shred each line in my PDF to successive rows in an excel file. Here is what I’m looking for:

1. Each line should be written into new rows in excel.
  2. A column against each row which identifies the paragraph number, line number and page number of line that was shredded.
  3. I have a dictionary of keywords on excel, I want to check if each shredded line contains ANY of my keywords. If the keyword is detected, the corresponding cell in excel needs to be highlighted.

I’m a beginner and so far I have been able to read the PDF file, write data into a text file and then to the excel. However, the entire data from the text file is being written into the first row. I want each line to be written into new rows. I tried using the split function, but am not able to achieve this.

Could one you please help me out?

I’m actually working on an enterprise project, if anyone of you is interested to collaborate please do let me know.

Thanks!

No need to write it to a text file, you can do it all within memory.

1. Read pdf and save to a string variable i’ll call PDFtext
  2. Build datatable activity. Have it be completely blank, but create one string column named PDFtext. Save to a datatable variable I’ll call dt1.
  3. In a for each activity (be sure to change the TypeArgument property to string): For each line in Strings.Split(PDFtext,Environment.Newline)
    3a. Add datatable activity. Datatable to add: dt1 ArrayRow: {line}
  4. Write range activity: choose your excel file path and sheet name. Datatable = dt1

With the above 4 steps you should have an excel file where each row in the PDF is now in an excel row. Now that you’ve done that you can tackle the next portion separately. I don’t want to make the entire workflow for you as that would inhibit your learning :slight_smile:

Thanks @Dave. I was able to follow most of your instructions.

I’m getting the following error: