Scraping the body of an email as text

Hey there,

I’m trying to extract the body text of an email but can’t seem to get it working. I have filtered the email I want as part of an ‘if’ activity based on sender/subject but cannot get the body of the email to appear.

Could someone please help by explaining which steps I’ll need to take? (Apologies, I’m new to this).

Thank you!

Hi @dr1992,

Could you please get a screenshot of the code that you’re using, and the bit that isn’t working as expected?

Hey @william.coulson, I won’t add a screenshot as it contains some sensitive info.

I have a ‘get outlook mail’ activity with a variable of UnreadEmails. Then a ffor each loop which gets each item in the inread emails with the criteria of:

item.Subject.ToString.ToLower.Contains(“EMAIL SUBJECT”) and item.Sender.ToString.Equals(“EXAMPLE@EMAIL.co.uk”)

I then have a message box for item.Body.ToString. When I run the bot, it marks my email as ‘read’ as inteded but then doesn’t show the message box.

Hi @dr1992,

Something like this?

If the message box isn’t going off, I would try running the code in debug and see the values of the various email parts you are referring to (subject, sender, body). You can specify these in a log message before the If statement or see them in the locals panel

The code you have written is in correct
item.Subject.ToString.ToLower.Contains(“EMAIL SUBJECT”)

You are converting the text to ‘ToLower’ and then comparing it with Capital characters.

Either use toupper or use non caps email subject

That was just an example to preserve sensitive info, the letters are lowered.

Is the type argument set to System.Net.Mail.MailMessage?!
IMG_20211101_204309|690x310

It is indeed.

Hmm so I debugged it and every field on that part is ‘The following errors were encountered while processing the workflow tree:‘VisualBasicValue’: Compiler error(s) encountered processing expression “item.To”.Option Strict On disallows late binding.’

Any ideas?

Hi @dr1992,