Run Robots Without Orchestrator with an "executable" file **Not in .bat**

Hi folks!

I am a UiPath newbie but I think i came up with a very interesting solution for people who wanna run a robot without orchestrator and even schedule It. I know some people are used to using the old .bat method. However, It has a couple downsides. In my opinion, the biggest downside is that everytime UiPath updates, the .bat file breaks and then you have to edit it to bring your robots back to life. Fortunately, the .vbs method solves this problem so our robots can live long and prosper.

I’m gonna show you guys step by step how to do It:

1. Download the zip file that I’ve made available in this post.
  2. Unzip it to a very nice destination folder (give him a nice home so he can behave).
  3. Open “Run UiPath Robot.vbs” with Notepad (you can right-click it and then select “Edit”).
  4. Change the “WORKFLOW_PATH” variable to the entire path of the project (you can either put the Main.xaml path or the project.json).
    The line will look something like this:
    WORKFLOW_PATH = “C:\Users\your.name\Desktop\Main.xaml”
  5. Save it
  6. WE’RE READY FOR WORK JUST DOUBLE-CLICK IT AND LET THE ROBOTS CONQUER THE WORLD.

All joking aside, now you have a “executable” file that you can easily schedule it with Windows Scheduler. This is beyond the scope of this post but i’m sure you can find some pretty good tutorials about it on internet.

Talking about tutorials, if you wanna step ahead and schedule files in a very neat-command-prompted way you can refer to this blog: https://www.robvanderwoude.com/schtasks.php

Link for the zip file: Link

If you guys have any doubts or suggestions, feel free to contact me :wink:

VAI BRAZILLIAN!!!

6 Likes

Salve, mermĂŁo @Guilherme_Mendes

Running the robot by bat file is not the best way it can be done. Your script was very good!
And the tutorial for scheduling a task at the prompt is very good too. :smiley:

VAI BRAZILIAN

1 Like