Recursive file selection inside app own dialog

Hi guys,

I’m new to RPA and am trying to implement a solution that may be simple. The use case is: I have an upload windows application and I need to recursively iterate throug a tree of folders, uploading all files available and moving the uploaded ones to a mirror folder structure (created on the fly).
The aplication opens a select file dialog in which I must select at most 100 files at each time. After that, I need to click the Upload button and wait till the upload ends (progressbar) to start a new batch with the next 100 files.
At the end of the whole process the expected result is to have all files uploaded and all the original files moved to a mirror folder structure under a “DONE” folder.
Any directions on how to achieve this would be appreciated.
Thanks!

Hi @iFelinto,
Welcome to the Community!
Apart from navigating through the folder structure which might be a harder case, you can use the Send Hotkey activity with the CTRL+A combination to select all files inside the folder.

Are these folders and files structured with any logic? How does it look like? Maybe it will be easier to figure out any solution.

Hi @Pablito,

The folders structure has no order at all. I’ll also have to find a way to retrieve the folder name (only the last one in the path) to paste it into a field after the file selection.
I won’t be able to use the CTRL+A as I must select at most 100 files each time.

Thanks for the contribution.

The only thing that comes to my mind is listing files and the last folder name using a PowerShell script. Then you could push it to excel or the datatable variable and work on this using loops.

This will list all files inside each folder in the mentioned path:

Get-ChildItem -Path “<folder>” -Recurse

This can list first 100 elements from the path:

Get-ChildItem -Path “<folder>” -File | Select-Object -first 100