Read Invoice values from Text file

Hi All,

I am relatively new to UIPATH. In our company, we create invoice files from AS400. The invoices are in text format. Using the text reading functionalities available in UIPATH, we are able to get the complete text.

But we are struggling to extract relevant data from the text file. What is the best way to distinguish and segregate useful data like date of invoice, company name and Invoice amount etc. We tried to use anchor base but it did not work as expected.

Thanks & Regards
Rada

Will you be able to try this? you can use substrings,split to extract additional data

string sCompName = “CompanyName”;
string sAmount = “InvoiceAmount”;

string[] readText = File.ReadAllLines("Invoice.txt");
foreach(item in readText) {
     if(item == sCompName OR item == sAmount)
         // Found it!
}

Update: made some corrections, You can even read line by line, which I assume is your requirement. Let me know if you have any questions.

2 Likes

Thank you for the speedy reply.
We will try your method to extract values.

Thanks & Regards
Rada

Hi Vaidya,

Please let me know where to write the custom code in UIPATH and once we find the relevant keyword like Invoice Amount, how to read the value next to that (The actual invoice amount) ?

Thanks again,

Regards
Rada

Attached is a simple example.

textfile.xaml (7.6 KB)

2 Likes

Hi Vaidya,

Thanks. We were able to achieve the data extraction with your sample code.

Thanks & Regards
Rada

Hi Viadya,

I think I am trying to do the same thing as the person that asked this question. I am trying to pull the text table out of an invoice into an excel file. I have many files all with the same format and would ideally like to go through all of them without opening them. I have just downloaded UIpath so I am still orientating myself.