Question about sequence to create conditionnal phrase etc

Good Morning Wonderfull people,
I am new with programming and RPA.
Just a short question , just to understand how it is the syntaxis to create a conditionnal or any other phrase:
This is my context:
I have a variable1 = Surname and i want to create a conditionnal phrase.
i would like to understand how we composed that phrase because i have the possibility to make two forms of conditionnal :
1.- Surname.Equals.CompareTo or

2.- Surname.CompareTo.Equals

In general is just an exemple:
I would really appreciated if you could help me to understand is there any formula, sequence or syntaxis to respect when we want create a conditionnal phrase using a Variable and then add a a point , and then another point, because i see that we have modules that repeats.

Thanks
Richch

@Ricchch
Try like this
Surname.Equal(“your name”)

Surname.Contains(“your name”)

1 Like

@Ricchch

For ease UiPath provides an easy option as well to understand better…you can click on the below symbol and you would be able to edit the conditions in a interactive screen

Directly you can give like this
like if you want to check if surname contains xyz then surname.Contains("xyz")
for exact match use surname.Equals("xyz")

cheers

1 Like

hi @Ricchch

fullName= “Daniel Ricardo”
surName=“Ricardo”
So, you want to compare Surname with some string:
you can do it like: fullName.Equals(surName) will return you false

or if you wanna check for a substring: fullName.contains(surName) will return you true.

Thanks
Happy Automation! :smiley:

1 Like

@Ricchch
To avoid case sensitive issue you can try like this as well

surname.ToString.ToUpper.Equal (“YOUR NAME”)
surname.ToString.ToLower.Equal(“your name”)

Same in contains case.

1 Like

Thank you very much @Anil_G , @adiijaiin , @raja.arslankhan
It helped me to discover the use of conditional builder… i will keep in mind that device.