Output Arguments of an Invoked Workflow (working with xml nodes)

Hello everyone,

I am new to this forum and hope that I can find some help here.

I am currently working on my own “Workflow Inspector”. As some of you might know, there is already an open accessible “Workflow Inspector RPA component in UiPath Connect” (Workflow Inspector - RPA Component | UiPath Marketplace). I started with this component as foundation and I am adding custom checks that fulfill my requirements regarding coding standards.

Maybe a quick word on how the Workflow Inspector works (forgive me if I explained it wrong since I am not really experienced on working with xml nodes):
With the Workflow Inspector you can define some specific xml nodes which you want to analyze. With given check criteria it can perform checks on all relevant nodes. If some issues were spotted (check criteria not fulfilled), those issues are written into a report file.

The situation:
Part 1: Currently I am building a check which checks if a specific workflow file is invoked within the whole project (folder).
Part 2: If the correct invoke workflow file activity was identified, I want to output all invoked arguments to an array/data table (I want to store the information in an Excel file later).

Part 1 is already done.

For Part 2:
My idea was to take advantage of the Input (“Arguments” attribute) properties of the Invoke Workflow File activity since the arguments are stored there (I guess?). My attempt was to get the .Attributes(“Arguments”) list/array/collection (or whatever it is…I really don’t know) and convert it to something that I can use to output the data (e.g. Data table). The data type of this collection seems to be “System.Xml.XmlAttributes”.

Would that work somehow? If yes, how can I do it?

If my idea does not work, do you have an other solution to output the imported arguments?

Every help is much appreciated. Thanks!

2 Likes

Hello!