Orchestrator credentials, Credentials or Get password (Get IMAP Mail)

Hello,

I have to build a demo robot for a client/company that doesn’t use RPA yet.
The robot needs to be created with the ReFramework, has to be attended and I don’t think I need to work with Queue.(?)
It is only for reading the incomming mails and sort/sent them to other mailboxes.

My question is:
What is the best “credentials” solution for the company, according to safety and ease of use?
Asset, windows, or Get password activity?

I don’t know the difference between them. :flushed:
This is my first time creating a robot without the UiPath academy (walkthrough)
and it is more difficult then I thought. :blush: :woman_facepalming:
Please help, mi amigos :grin: :pray:

Regards

@E_lanotte, Hi

Both Orchestrator assets and windows credential are recommended, however since the robot is Attended, you can allow the bot to prompt the user to type in the password and username if that’s what your client prefers.

Good luck on your first project… :smiley:

2 Likes

Thank you for the quick responding!

For the moment I only received test inboxes to practice the Demo with webmail.
In the real situation, the company will use their own inbox.
I hope this is not a problem when using asset credential in orchestrator?
And the windows credentials, work on other computers too?

These are probably stupid questions :blush:
I’m sorry for not speaking the RPA language yet, and my RPA thinking patterns are still…loading… :sweat_smile:

Greetings

Hey no worries at all, thats how we learn, by asking questions. It is kind of difficult for me to give you advice not knowing the entire process and the operations of the organization but what i know for sure the Orchestrator Assets would always be your best option, because it is on the orchestrator where your robot connects to. even if you change computers, you just need to create the new machine on orchestrator and connect your robot to it.

2 Likes