Not able to disable classic folders in Orchestrator

We migrated from Orchestrator version 19.10.15 to 20.10.8. Previously we were using classic folders and now when we migrated we want to use modern folders but the option remains disabled to do so.

Please suggest how to achieve the same.

Hello @JDoshi!

It seems that you have trouble getting an answer to your question in the first 24 hours.
Let us give you a few hints and helpful links.

First, make sure you browsed through our Forum FAQ Beginner’s Guide. It will teach you what should be included in your topic.

You can check out some of our resources directly, see below:

  1. Always search first. It is the best way to quickly find your answer. Check out the image icon for that.
    Clicking the options button will let you set more specific topic search filters, i.e. only the ones with a solution.

  2. Topic that contains most common solutions with example project files can be found here.

  3. Read our official documentation where you can find a lot of information and instructions about each of our products:

  4. Watch the videos on our official YouTube channel for more visual tutorials.

  5. Meet us and our users on our Community Slack and ask your question there.

Hopefully this will let you easily find the solution/information you need. Once you have it, we would be happy if you could share your findings here and mark it as a solution. This will help other users find it in the future.

Thank you for helping us build our UiPath Community!

Cheers from your friendly
Forum_Staff

We’re looking for a way to do this too, on version 2021.10.4.

Hi @nikii

When you go under tenant => Settings and scroll down can you check “Activate Modern Folders”?

We are able to use Modern folders without problems. However, we want to disable using Classic folders, and we can’t do that. The option that was previously selected is now disabled and can’t be changed. We would like to clear this setting value, to turn it off, either in the website, database, or config.
ClassicFoldersDeprecated_02

Once you enable Classic Folders, you won’t be able to rollback.

@marian.platonov the setting value must be stored somewhere? I’m hoping to find where that is. We’ve never created any classic folders, so it’s not a cascading delete problem. For us this box was ticked accidentally by a previous admin team. We want to prevent creation of any classic folders going forward.

It is stored in the [uipath].[dbo].[Settings] table, but even if you will try to update it manually, this will not help you either.

  UPDATE [uipath].[dbo].[Settings]
  SET [Value] = 'false'
  where [Name] = 'Features.ClassicFolders.Enabled'

We are planning to remove completely the Classic Folders and Standard machines in the releases that will be published after April 2023. Deprecation timeline


Also, you can check your Orchestrator settings by using the /odata/Settings Rest Api endpoint and check the value for Features.ClassicFolders.Enabled.

1 Like

@marian.platonov thanks. I wish there was a way to disable classic folders without waiting for a future release to become stable and be installed! :slight_smile: As noted on this page - Managing Folders - this setting also affects the options when giving folder access to accounts or groups.