Need help with a for each row trying to match a get text to a DT

I’m having trouble trying to get this to work, what I have is two things, one a get text output “PinNum” in the image you can see I tested it to make sure it was getting the data in a message box. The other is a data table called “dt_veritity” and that logs a message that it is getting the data in the PIN column. I’m positive that I’m either missing something in the for each area or that you can’t compare a string to a data table? If anyone could steer me in the right direction that would be great! I’m new at this so any help could help :slight_smile: The goal is to look for the PIN column number in the excel and compare it to the get text in the application to see if they match. When I run the bot I get the error in the for each area of Object reference not set to an instance of an object. In that second for eac

h ignore that dt_PIN that was my attempt to convert the get text output to a data table but that did not work. So my question is do I have to convert the get text to a data table to compare it or can you compare get text output to a data table column?

Hi @jeff.shubzda,

few things that you need to check:

1. Looks like dt_Pin doesn’t contain anything. Please check what value and in what scope you have assigned it.
  2. In order to compare your get text value to dt value(that you have printed using log message as well), you just need to write like below under if:
    row.item(“PID”).ToString.Equals(PinNum)

You don’t need to convert get text output to a datatable. Its a string value, can be directly used.

Please try, it should work.

Regards
Sonali

2 Likes

HI @jeff.shubzda,

Please let me know when you have tried this.

Regards
Sonali

I did and it removed the error I was getting, I removed the 2nd for each also however the matching is not happening, I get a message of NOT have a match. I know they match in theory?

Hi @jeff.shubzda,

Glad to hear it resolved the error.